Welcome from the Tennessee Association of Teacher Educators!

As 2007-2010 TATE President, I want to thank you for your interest in one of the most important educationally-based professional organizations in our State. TATE is our State's representative of the national Association of Teacher Educators (ATE). ATE works diligently to improve the educational system in our nation, and TATE pursues a similar goal in our State. It is an exciting time to be part of this organization. Not only is Tennessee ATE impacting education at the state level, but in addition, our members have recently taken a greater role at the regional and national levels as Tom Buttery (APSU) has taken over as Editor of the SRATE Journal and Tammie Brown (MTSU) has been elected to the national ATE Board. SRATE stands for the Southeastern Regional Association of Teacher Educators.

Dr. Bettie Barrett - President


  • TATE shall serve as a State Unit of the Association of Teacher Educators, and as such shall work closely with ATE to provide opportunity for individual professional growth for all persons concerned with teacher education in Tennessee.
  • TATE shall seek to promote quality programs for teacher education.
  • TATE shall provide a forum for ideas and practices related to teacher education; shall keep its members informed of new and promising developments in teacher education; and shall assist its members to initiate these practices.
  • TATE shall work cooperatively with other organizations, agencies, institutions, and individuals desiring to study and to improve teacher education programs and practices.

Board Members & Officers 2008-2010

President Bettie Barrett barrettb@apsu.edu
President-Elect Benita Bruster bruster@apsu.edu
Vice-President Thomas J. Buttery butteryt@apsu.edu
Immediate Past Pres. Tammie Brown tsbrown@mtsu.edu
Board Member Bonnie Buckland bbuckland@southcollegetn.edu
Board Member Kathryn H. Clayton claytonk@bethelu.edu
Board Member Charle Coffey ccoffey@mscc.edu
Board Member Karen Cypress kcypress@fhu.edu
Board Member Margaret Deitrich deitrich@apsu@edu
Board Member Beth Quick bquick@utm.edu
Board Member Phil Roberson proberson@tnstate.edu
Board Member Rick Short rshort@mtsu.edu
Board Member Stella H. Simpson ssimpson@trevecca.edu
Board Member Tina Thornton Smith tsmith2@martinmethodist.edu
Eastern Regional Rep. Sharon Teets steets@cn.edu
Middle Regional Rep. Charmaine Lowe lowec@apsu.edu
Western Regional Rep. Cherry Watts cwatts@utm.edu
Executive Director Bettie Barrett barrettb@apsu.edu